Home > random > windows vista shadowstorage

windows vista shadowstorage

April 29, 2010

I did a recovery on my laptop running vista, and after that had my partitions split from my c: to several other drives. After a few days, the free space on my c: reduced drastically, even though i did not install any software or store any huge files. And doing a “Properties” on the folders would show only a lesser amount of space, but the drive shows only 8GB free out of 150GB. Not sure of whats going and googling around for a while, found this command to cleanup all the used space.
“vssadmin list shadowstorage” – will show how much space will be used up for shadowstorage, and it was showing 98GB in my laptop.
“vssadmin resize shadowstorage /on=C: /for=C: /MaxSize=500MB”, would reduce the size taken in the disk for shadowstorage. After restarting windows, all the free space was reclaimed. A simple setting but most of my friends suggested it was a bug with vista.

Categories: random Tags: , ,